Coronavirus: “Covid insurance” required to travel to certain countries

By Cécile D. Published on February 9, 2022 at 11:30 am

Around forty countries now require travelers to have “Covid insurance”, which must cover health and repatriation costs, in the event that these tourists are infected with the coronavirus.

A vaccination passportsometimes a screening test negative in addition, a period of quarantine or not… Travel in times of pandemic, this requires a special organization, and an ability to adapt to any test. From now on, before going on vacation abroad, you must look into a new document, essential to go to certain countries. More than 40 countries around the world have implemented a new condition for travelers.

Since February 3, 2022these countries require travelers to have a “Covid insurance“. This special insurance covers the health and repatriation costs, in case you catch the virus abroad. Without this document, you might not be allowed to leave France.

They are our colleagues who were the first to talk about this new kind of insurance. According to them, this mechanism allows host countries to ensure that each visitor is able to pay their medical care costs, but also their hotel costs, in the event that the tourist has to stay in isolation.

This insurance is also a help for the traveler: many countries impose screening tests on arrival and departure. If, in France, these tests are free for vaccinated people, this is not the case everywhere else. the price of these tests can even quickly climb to several hundred euros! advises travelers to check with their bank : some already offer this service via the Bank cards like Visa Premier.

This insurance certificate must include the words “Covid-19” and must be carried with you at all times during your trip.

Here is the list of countries that have requested this Covid insurance since February 3, 2022:

  • Europe : Russia, Ukraine
  • America : Argentina, Aruba, Bahamas, Bolivia, Brazil (for trips over 90 days), Chile, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ecuador, Guatemala, Turks and Caicos Islands, Paraguay, Saint Martin, El Salvador
  • Asia : Saudi Arabia, Cambodia, China, Indonesia, Jordan, Lebanon, Malaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Nepal, Oman, Pakistan, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand
  • Africa : Algeria, Benin, Cape Verde, Djibouti, Kenya, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Togo, Seychelles

Leave a Comment