England, Australia and USA designated

— Posted May 13, 2022


It is done. Without the slightest surprise, and not an ounce of suspense, the World Rugby Council validated Thursday, May 12 in Dublin the host countries of five future editions of the World Cup. As proposed at the end of the selection process, England will organize the Women’s World Cup in 2025. Australia will follow with an unprecedented double 2027 (men) and 2029 (women). Finally, the oval planet will turn for the first time to the United States, chosen to also receive a double World Cup men’s in 2031 and women’s in 2033. “Today we have named three exceptional Rugby World Cup host nations – England, Australia and the USA – providing unprecedented certainty and a unique opportunity to drive the growth and reach of rugby. in the worldcommented the president of World Rugby, the Englishman Bill Beaumont. Our new partnership approach to organizing tournaments will promote sustainable development, particularly in the United States and for women’s rugby, and allow the sport to realize its potential on and off the field by generating significant socio-economic benefits. for host countries“. England has already hosted the Women’s World Cup in 2010 and the men’s editions in 1991 and 2015. For Australia, host of the men’s tournament in 1987 (with New Zealand) and in 2003, it will be a first feminine. “Hosting not one, but two Rugby World Cups on our shores will be a game-changer for rugby in the countryassured the president of Rugby Australia, Hamish McLennan. It will provide us with a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to revitalize and secure the future of rugby in Australia and see the sport we all love grow and thrive for years to come.“Finally, World Rugby is making history by awarding two successive editions to the United States. But North America had already hosted a Women’s World Cup, organized in 2006 in Canada.

French versionEngland, Australia and USA designated

Labels: Rugby

Leave a Comment